It’s Only 45 More Strings

The Night of Avarice. It is not a festival I pay much attention to. The indulgences that Vorst and Siscern might wish upon us are not really to my taste. I am a man of moderate desires, and moderate indulgence. Sure, I have played music in taverns while others celebrate in the approved fashion, but beyond taking perhaps a few more drinks than I might otherwise consume, I do not over-indulge.

This particular Avarice evening, I had planned nothing more than relaxing at home with some ham and cheese and a jar of cider. As it was, it did not turn out that way, but I have no complaints. I had pleasant company and that without the pressure to indulge in anything more than conversation.

The evening also included a somewhat ambitious potential commission. I was crossing the square by the fountain when I encountered the good captain’s sister, Anariel, sitting by the fountain. We made polite conversation regarding various things, including some clothing she was having Mistress Nessa make for her. She said that it was fortuitous that we had met, for she had been seeking me. She asked if I was a crafter of instruments. Sadly, I could not answer her to her satisfaction. I could make minor repairs to those instruments I owned, and maybe fashion such things as bells, triangles and such like, but I had no experience in anything further.

What she wanted was definitely well beyond my capabilities, at least, for now. She wanted somebody to fashion for her a harpsichord. Now that set be back somewhat. That was a considerably more complicated project than anything I had considered before. 60 strings, instead of the 15 I am used to on the lute, plus minor details like a huge frame, a keyboard etc. I told her straight that I did not think this was something within my range, nor did I know anybody in Iero who built such things.

She looked somewhat disappointed so I said I would look into it. I couldn’t make any promises, I said, but, perhaps, just maybe, I could look at collaborating with others. I could, no doubt, make the frame and various parts of the mechanism. Anselm, the luthier, for example could possibly expand his repertoire to 60 strings. I know a couple of cabinet-makers, who’ve made presentation cases for swords and daggers, when something a bit fancier is required beyond my carpentry skill. I would have to research in the library, to see if it was even remotely possible. That’s all I could promise, that I would look into it.

We spoke a while about the various minor thefts that had been going on, with random items of clothing being stolen and deposited elsewhere. That led to talking about clothing in general and how Nessa was making clothes for her. I said I would probably have to look at having some grander clothes made now that I was part of the royal household.  She also told me she had been having visions, but didn’t know what they were about yet.

We parted company and I made my way down to mid-docks. I was just passing the Shed when I encountered Rubi, the lady who had been in search of books the last time we met. We made greeting and spoke briefly of our previous encounter. She was still staying at the Cross Keys and I was on my way to acquire some supper, we decided to head back there.  As we cross the market, we encountered an Aerial. It may have been the one from the other day, but I wasn’t sure, as I had only seen that one at a distance. This one at least spoke, and gave us blessings on this Night of Avarice.

We both returned her greeting and invited her to join us for supper. She declined, saying that another time, she might, but tonight, she had to hold vigil with the Sisters. She was glad, though, that we were not intending to give in to the indulgences of the Brothers. She flew off then, promising to intercede on our behalf with Iera.

Rubi and I continued to the tavern, where we supped on the mutton stew and ale and wine. We spoke of the Night of Avarice and the baser indulgences of the Brothers, and how neither of us were particularly inclined to succumb. I told how my mother had suffered no small number of indignities from men who were all too eager to assume that because she sang for them in taverns, she was willing to entertain them in other ways. That was one of the main reasons I avoided over-indulgence, because I didn’t want to be like them. She told me this was the first time she had been away from home for Avarice and was grateful for gentlemanly company. Such was the tenor of the evening after that, pleasant company without obligation or expectation.

Leave a comment